I’m back from the Chamber Music America conference, where I had an amazing time. Let me just write down some of the amazing people I had conversations with while I was there: Angela Myles Beeching (whose book Beyond Talent helped me redefine what I wanted my professional life to be), Eric Edberg (one of my favorite performer/bloggers), David Skidmore (of Third Coast Percussion awesomeness), Ed Harsh (the wonderful President and CEO of New Music USA and my long-distance boss), Peter McDowell (lovely Chicago career and PR advisor). I hung out with members of Axiom Brass, WindSync, and a few of my awesome NewMusicBox comrades like Frank Oteri and Alexandra Gardner. I could go on and on. It was wonderful. I also saw Erin McKeown at Le Poisson Rouge, David Little’s new opera Soldier Songs at the Schimmel Center, and a host of amazing ensembles who showcased at the event.

I’ve started to write about the conference, and my first post about it is over here on NewMusicBox.

 

